Search the forum,

Discuss Has anybody else done this course in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

locksmith

Hello
As you can see from my screen name I am a locksmith but have signed up to do nvq l3 plumbing and gas through trade gateway. Has anybody else had any dealings with them ?
I called them with regards to doing there short course "maintain your own plumbing" but there sales man came round, told me what a great guy I am and now I ha ve signed up for £150 a month for the above mentioned course. Think I have been had here.. I do not believe that in a couple of years I could be gas safe with only haven done at home learning and 10 weeks at the college.....Is this correct

Thanks. Next time ill stick to safes

You may not have been had but there are better ways of doing it. As Ermi says is there not a local college that could help you out? May be over the same time period but you'll be more likely to get a lot more support and actual coaching as they're not just about your money

I honestly don't see how home study and a short stint at college can give you the confidence and practical skills you need to do this for a living.

Turn the question around - if a plumber signed up for an identical locksmithing course, what would your advice be to him/her?

well thank you for some of the kind words. Did look into my local collage but they only offered full time. Not ageist, but really do not want to be stuck with a load of teenage boys. Girls would have been okay.

What didn't you like about your trade? I'm not going into it but always curious what other people put up with to earn a crust.

I do still enjoy locksmithing. I only looked into the smaller course to work on my own home but got talked into the bigger course. My own fault.....