Search the forum,

Discuss Condensate pipe fitting in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

plasticbertrand

Hello There, Thanks for letting me join your forum.
I am a retired Instrumentation Engineer (Lady fitter) as we used to be called and so perhaps most of you might think I shouldn't need any help, but I do. Since retiring, I have had great help from various forums including gardening and 'car repair' forums to name two! New lease of Life I guess!!!
Anyway, We had a new Boiler fitted a couple of months ago and we have not escaped the 'National condensate pipe freezing problem'
At least 4 Engineers have been out to our problem with the Condensate pipe leaking, but have all just done temporary fixes because they are out on faults and cannot spend the appropriate time or have not got the correct gear on the van to fix it properly. I have been up the ladder with hot jugs of water several times.
The pipe that comes out of the wall (from the Boiler) is a white 22mm OD pipe which connects to an elbow connection on the main condensate 'down' pipe to the gulley.
This elbow then converts from a 22mm pipe to the 35mm main condensate pipe and leaks all the time. There is a rubber olive in the elbow which is supposed to seal any leak but it doesn't. One of the Engineers put some glue on -but did not fix it. Our gable end has been like the North face of the Eiger.
Also because the pipe has been pulled from the wall to allow hot water to be poured down to get rid of the ice -the fitting now is 'loose' and the main down pipe should be fixed at the top.