Search the forum,

Discuss Woodburner connecting to an existing back boiler? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Louise Wray

Hi there... I have just bought a lovely wood stove from the 1930's, (France or Belgium), it's totally reconditioned and ready to go, but I know nothing else about it!
We have an open fire with a back boiler and would like to replace it with the stove, but if possible, keep the back boiler, as we find it useful, not to heat the whole house, but more to top up hot water.
My plumber has not had much to do with fitting woodstoves, so couldn't really help. We will of course use a professional but just need to know at this point if it's actually possible?!
Many Thanks in advance for your help.. but please keep the technical jargon at a minimum, I'm a Yoga teacher, not a plumber!!
Louise

Last edited by a moderator:
You can't use the back boiler from the open fire but if the stove has an integral boiler then it's possible to connect to existing system.

You can't use the back boiler from the open fire but if the stove has an integral boiler then it's possible to connect to existing system.

Totally agree old back boiler must
Come out

HI Louise, do you mean Franco-Belge, These boilers are still available. You need to find out what the potential output of the boiler is. Too large a boiler with too small a heating load will mean the thing will just tarr up your flue. Your open fire will may just do hot water. However, if it has radiators as well it will be a high output boiler. Your plumber will determine the difference. You can also get help from HETAS who are similar to the organisation for gas (GAS SAFE or formally Corgi).
HETAS only deal with Solid fuel units. Look their site up on the internet. Google HETAS. Solid fuel stoves should only be fitted by a HETAS registered plumber/htg eng.
PS you may need toohave your chimney relined for the stove to work at its best.