Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Potterton Lynx electronic boiler fault in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

michael194

Hi all, first post.

Firstly, let me explain that I am an electronics engineer and my trade is with the TV & hi fi repair industry.

I have a Potterton Lynx electronic with a rather peculiar fault.

When the boiler comes on first time it comes on OK and central heating works. However when it needs to reignite for instance when hot water is switched on, or after using hot water, the demand light and ignition light will come on it will try igniting but wont, the ignition light will go out leaving the demand light showing and the fan running.

If you switch the boiler off for say 10 seconds, it will start up and run until it needs to reignite itself. I sometimes have to do this several times.

It isn't the electronic large board, the one with transformer, the capacitors were replaced by me a couple of years ago.

The Full sequence control board was replaced a few months ago when the boiler wouldn't fire up at all.

All dry joints on both this and the other boards have been attended to.

Additional info:

When the fault occurs, you can see the ignition sparking for a couple of seconds, sometimes the gas ignites for a few seconds then goes out. When the boiler works normally the ignition sparks for say 5 - 10 seconds.

Having observed more about what is happening, I'm wondering if the problem is caused when the heating has reached temperature and the boiler tries to switch from high flame to low flame.

I know this boiler is old, but when it works it works well and I dont have the money to replace it.

Thank you for you time and help.