Search the forum,

Discuss My difficult situation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

turbo13

Hi, I'm in my 4th year of my apprenticeship and I'm looking for advice on the following.

I'll try not to over-complicate things but basically I started on a full time course because I couldn't find a job straight away but after applying for god knows how many jobs I finally got a job but it wasn't domestic. It was industrial working on schools, colleges, Hospitals etc. It came with its pros and cons but I soon found out it came with a massive con, My company sub-contracts ALL its gas work out. Now I'm coming to the end of my apprenticeship and I have no gas work for my evidence and with my lack of experience working on boilers etc i'm sure to fail my end exam.
My question is, what should I do? Should I look for a new, domestic based job for a company that are gas safe registered? The Money is quite good here and there are options to progress and become a foreman or project manager which is cool but if they got rid of me before I got that opportunity I would be stuck between a rock and a hard place, with the unlikeliness of landing a new job without being gas safe registered and my lack of domestic experience. It would also be unlikely to get another job working on the industrial side considering companies mainly hire pipe fitters and not plumbers.

Try talking to your manager, maybe they'll let you tag along when the company they contract out to do the gas work ?

You won't even get to sit your exam without a gas portfolio, TBH at the end of your third year you should be put forward for the gas course if you are going to get a portfolio, then you do the theory training in college, so in not sure why you are in a position to maybe fail an exam you shouldn't be sitting

Lots of plumbers work on industrial/commercial sites, not just pipe fitters