Discuss Grundfos UPS 15-50 Fault - blockage? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

BLIND

Hello everyone! I've had a scan through the first 2 pages of 'Grundfos pump faults' but can't find anything similar to the problem I have.

I would like to know of possible causes of pump failure. There is power going to the pump, it was fitted in the correct orientation and it was working fine for 2 days before failing. It sounds like the motor wants to spin but it blocked or stuck, this causes back pressure and activates pressure release gate and cuts out boiler.

History: Boiler kept over pressurising and cutting out; replaced expansion tank but fault remained; replaced pump and that fixed it; 2 months on and same fault has returned; expansion tank still ok so thought it might be a dodgy pump so replaced it and this time it lasted 2 days before pump fault returned.

My background: I am a novice plumber who bought a house 1yr ago with a 15yr old boiler and water tank. On moving into the house, I had the boiler serviced and although old, I was advised that it was on good condition but the thermo coupling may need to be replaced at some point.

I am looking to get a local certified plumber in to help diagnose the problem but any advice is most welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Billy

Muck in the system is most likely issue

can you give some information on boiler, have you made sure that all valves are open ??

Riley - thanks. I presume some kind of power flush would be needed to clear the system?

JTS - I'll update boiler specs tonight but all valves are open and pump was working well for 2 days before fault appeared.

CH4 - I'll look into how and why the pump valve is partially closed.

I've had tired pumps straight out of the box, give it a tap when you have power to it and see what happens
If it's a bit of crud it may get dislodged, if not it'll need taking off and inspecting