Search the forum,

Discuss flushing heating pipes in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

herbert

I am in the process of sorting the plumbing out in my brothers 'new' house.. I am in the process of taking out an old primatic system and converting it to a combi (which i am not fitting) i have done all the pipework etc and all the radiators removed and flushed out.. what is the best way to clean the pipework out without a powerflush machine before i change the rad valves and refit the rads? i was thinking of using a 3/4 garden hose connector and connecting it to one of the old valvs and out another flush all the flow pipes with the returns closed and vice verser. I am still new to the plumbing game and i cant think of a better way of doing it. Thanks in advance

I have just simply joined hoses to 15mm copper by pushing the pipe well inside hose ( helps to put hose end in hot water) & using jubilee clips. You flush whatever way you want, as long as you plug all open vents off & leave other hose connection on.

Should have said that I join to 15 mm type, tail connection with a nut & olive on end of pipe, but if it is the larger type tail rad valve, I keep a tail with a 15 mm female fitting tightened on it, for to connect to copper pipe on the hose.

thanks for the reply but i am not too worried about getting the water to the pipework its more of the process of flushing it out i am not soo sure of

Trouble is, you have the rads removed, so you have all the " dead runs " to the rads from the main runs to flush. I tend to flush with rads back on. You could always do each pipe at a time, but laborious. Other issue is , how would you know what side of each rad was flow or return. Unless you join flow & return together, temp, somewhere, & then just flush each pipe from one connection?

flushing hot will be better, is the old boiler still connected and working? if so add chemicals and flush out hot.