Discuss compent persons schemes un vented cylinders HELP in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

divingdog5

hi to one and all to night i was at college doing my electrics c&G 2330 i am a plumber and a member of the gas safe registrar, i was talking to one of the lectures who recently had a unvented cylinder installed buy a local plumber , this local plumber had completed a training course in hws including g3 unvented cylinders , as i understand it, i could be and probably am wrong ;you need to contact building regs 10 days before the install to let them know what is happening am i correct ?? now my argument was if this chap has completed a competency course he should be able to self certify correct ??? as i learnt tonight to my horror my lecture explained that you need to be a member of an organisation to self certify uhwc is this correct he is a electrical tutor ? what are the rules , im a bit shocked as i thought buy doing the course you comply to building regs ect and dont have to pay the building inspector ... to certify the works , buy the way he refused to pay the plumber untill he becomes a member of a plumbing or heating body and its not me !.
i am a bit confused as today i installed correctly i may add a unvented system do i need also to become a memberof a body or does my ticket cover me . and if not what body should i look to , is it simply another money making scheme ??

and i opted to do the city and guilds instead of the part p as i feel its the proper way to do it 1 and a half years in and i must add its proving to be a great course instead of 5 days part p training ..

THANKS FOR LOOKING

You do need to be a member of a competants scheme, as they will do the paper work for you. It will still require registering with building control. However instead of a site visit from a BCO you fill out the paper work and send it off your self. Self certification.