• Welcome to PlumbersForums.net - The international plumbing advice forum. Professional plumbers sharing advice with fellow plumbers and DIY alike. Register for free today!

Discuss Boiler wont ignite after power off in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

gavc

Reaction score
I replaced a couple of TRVs earlier, and prior to starting I powered off the boiler (a Main Heat 15). Boiler is 7 months old, and never been isolated from the mains before today.

Once all the rads were bled, went to power on the boiler and now the pilot won't ignite. And the reset button doesn't do anything.

As a total novice I'm not intending messing with anything, but does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Brambles

Reaction score
Do you have the same issue for Hot Water and Central Heating? Or is Hot Water only ok? If it is both not functioning:

Is this operating on a sealed system?

If so:

Check that you have properly repressurised the system - it needs to at least 0.5bar

Check that you have power to the boiler.

Follow the reset procedure ( it is very simple) set out in the users manual - but you need to follow the precise process to ensure that the boiler has reset.

If it is only not operating on heating:

The motorised valve (s) would be my first point if call to find the fault.

Thereafter, if no success you need a Gas Safe Engineer to look at it

OP
G

gavc

Reaction score
Hot water seems OK, that seems to be the only the pipe that gets hot. Though I can't see the pilot light, so that's confused me..!

Yeah, it's pressurised OK, I took it up to 1bar.

Craig Watson

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Hot water seems OK, that seems to be the only the pipe that gets hot. Though I can't see the pilot light, so that's confused me..!

Yeah, it's pressurised OK, I took it up to 1bar.
It doesn't have a pilot light.

OP
G

gavc

Reaction score