Discuss Baxi 80 eco continuosly trying to fire in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

B.gilbey

I have a rather old 80eco that is intermittant, it attempts to fire then shuts off, a few seconds later the same, after a few times it lights for a second or two then shuts down. Does anyone have the resistance reading across the temp sensor so i check that? Have searched through here to try and find it but either not here or im doing something wrong lol would appreciate any help possible due to being totally skint and christmas wont wait till next year. I am a competent technician but not with boilers, so can check the basics armed with the expected readings and if this doesnt help, well will need a professional. Thanks for any help you may have, Brian

I wouldnt be looking at the temp sensor.
probably something common, simple and cheap on the gas side, think you need an engineer to have a look.

All wiring connections, thermal cutout and all microswitches to ensure no/nc where applicable, had the diapragm and microswitch replaced about 6 months back due to not firing at all. And the divertor cleaned and greased. Any help appreciated :) thanks for your reply, Brian

Microswitch's no/nc 0ohms? Makes a difference coz high readings can confuse the PCB? 11k ohms for your sensors by the way cold/room temp :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the reply napper :) that was what I was hoping wasnt going to be the answer but know realistically its what I will prob have to do. I guess a big hammer isnt going to work either lol

16.6KOhms at the sensor, is that too high as will cause fault or is thst within tolerance? Thanks

It's a Negative Temp Coefficient (NTC) resistor so reduces with temp rise. (I think that's what it means:)) Depends on the temp of the water it's sensing to be honest ... I wouldn't be too concerned with 16k if the water was cold :)