Search the forum,

Discuss Would you rather? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

gasmanrob

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Do a job you enjoy but be paid an average salary or do a job that brings little satisfaction but pays extremely well?

been a question that was floated on site yesterday so far it's s 50/50 split of 8 people..

i went ant with doing a job I enjoy, what you guys saying

Its hard if you havent experienced both sides and i havent. I think i would go for the average salary nice job. But could be tempted to do a few years of the shiiiiiit job high salary if it meant i could pay my mortgage off or make a serious dent into it.

I used to work in IT in investment banks. It paid absolute shyteloads of money but I hated it. Now I earn less than 20% of what I used to but wake up every morning looking forward to my day. The high earning years helped me get on the property ladder, and then back on after the ex-wife ravaged my finances. I'm grateful for that but it's no way to live a life, doing something you hate and find stressful.

Me too.

Was paid mega wonga, keep getting calls / email for jobs from agency and companies, but I this job has very little stress involved at all. The money is good. Some people would kill for the jobs we complain about.

Variety it's the spice of life....... Errrrrr no it's not i will have porridge every day ta

I've always chased the money. I'd switch jobs for an extra 20 quid a day and I've earnt obscene amounts of money. Then my kids came along and I realised that I'd rather be at home weekends and early afternoon most days. I still earn ok and we're surviving. Depends what makes you happy. You can't buy back quality time. If you're young and I mean like early 20s I'd say go for it before the family grows and the knees start creeking.