Discuss Setting up as self employed while been an employee for another company in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Macca2009

Hi all, just hoping to get some advice. Has anyone else started up there own business working self employed, while also working full time for another company. How do you register as this and what help can you get. I have no idea about how it affects tax or NI? Also what about insurance? I am a plumbing heating engineer also training to be gas safe registered.

Any help and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

You need to notify the tax office that you have a business as well as a day job .obviously be paying more tax out etc and will need your own public liabilty as well as possibly your own gas safe ,taxman will probably take bit more interest in you as well

cheers pal, is there anyway my gaffer could find out that I have a second job. Will my tax code or anything change?

i'm in the same boat, except im office boy during weekday, and was hoping to set up as Evening and Weekend Plumber until i get a decent enough client base. but havent got the slightest idea how to go about it...

I know what my gaffer is like he will spit the dummy out, wondering if im pinching fittings or using his van ect. plus he's just put me through my commercial gas. don't want to pee him off.

well if he sacks you for setting up another business then its unfair dismissal, he will find out as word generally gets around .

well if he sacks you for setting up another business then its unfair dismissal, he will find out as word generally gets around .