Search the forum,

Discuss Installing a Drayton Wiser 3 kit with an S plan 2 zone CH + HW system in the Plumbing Zone area at PlumbersForums.net

Objective:

I have an existing s-plan plus (see below for details) heating and hot water system, with 2 independent heating zones. There is a separate programmer and a simple room thermostat for zone 1 and programmable thermostat for zone 2. I have purchased the Drayton Wiser 3 zone kit and wish to replace the existing room thermostats and programmer with the new smart system.

I am not a plumbing professional, and therefore all my interpretations is based on reading around, and logical deductions. I would appreciate some feedback if people can give it, to make sure I have got the correct idea about how to wire in correctly the Drayton Wiser Hub.

Please see the link to the PDF for a formatted version of below with pictures: PDF of question

System description:

Firstly, I understand the solution requires me to replace both the room thermostat and the programmer from the zone terminals on the new Wiser Hub, as it connects to the room thermostats via wireless protocols over Wi-Fi. Now it is a matter of understanding my current system in detail.

Location of things:

The boiler and programmer are located in the utility on the ground floor and that is it.

The wiring centre is located in the middle floor airing cupboard, which also houses the hot water cylinder, the 2 CH zone valves and the HW zone valve, and also the primary system circulation pump.

Plumbing setup:

The plumbing setup of the system appears to be what is called an “S plan plus”, as it has 3 2 way valves controlling the direction of the heated primary water, for either CH zone or HW. The diagram below shows this in summary.

Electrical setup: