Discuss Considering learning Plumbing after school any advice? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tubbs95

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum so if this is meant to go in a different part of the forum or in an individual thread, sorry :p

Right, simple story - I'm in year 11, coming up to my exams, and I'm still undecided what I want to do next year despite the fact my school have said that I should be - told them where to go in the politest way possible.

Now, being a plumber interests me, but I have no idea about a thing, so it'd be teaching a complete novice. Looking at a few local college's near me, and they offer a ' Plumbing City & Guilds 6129 Technical Certificate Level 2', which is a 1 year course, which leads into the 2 year Level 3 course.

I was just wondering if this is a good way to get into plumbing? I did look for apprenticeships but there are none within 20 miles of me unfortunately.

Any other suggestions as to how the best way for a 16 year old to enter the proffesion? Thanks a lot in advance

its all about who you know in this game really, if one of your family was a plumber you'd probably get a start if not then you will struggle. Its still a good thing to get into always going to be a need for plumbers, heating engineers etc and now we've got new technology like solar, geothermal, heat source so it is constantly changing which is good keeps it interesting.

Keep trying to get an apprenticeship, look further than 20 miles. Or even put it off for a few years as it is hard the now and go to college and do different subjects see what you would like to do, with this recession no one really is taking anyone on your best bet is the likes of british gas they are recruiting the now

Last edited: