Discuss Sitting my ACS and Bricking it :) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris F

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi all not sure if this is the place to post this
Sitting my ACS at the end of Jan and its eating me up with stress,i have read the BPEC book page to page,i have been a plumber without gas for 10 years, i have worked with a gas safe engineer for 7 of those, worked on loads of heating jobs,fires,cookers etc.
Theoretically i can answer most of the questions without opening a book,its just being tripped up on the practical im worried about.Has anyone done the BPEC ACS? What does the practical involve? im sure its all common sense,like someone stuck a bag up the chimney and damper plates closed etc.I would ask the guy i work with but he is a sarcastic git and cant be arsed with his snide comments.
Any help or guidance will be loads of help,cheers :)

Last edited:
Hi Chris F, stop panicking, if you have been doing it for that long & have worked on fires & cookers as well as boilers / pipework you will be fine!! as far as it is possible in a test center you are asked to do the things that you should be doing day to day.
You don't need to be able to answer every question off the top of your head you are always allowed to look at your ref books, so if you can't remember how to work out the ventilation requirements for an O/P flue boiler cos your mind has gone blank, just look it up, there is nothing wrong in doing that. Good luck.

yeah mate i have worked on them all,its just you hear of experienced engineers buckling under the pressure hehe. I think its just Chimneys im worried about,but like you say anything to do with chimneys will be open book anyway,i remember all the open flued vent requirements etc,catchment spaces

no need to be stressed out, acs is easy, all this open book stuff's a joke.