Currently reading:
Plastic pipe verus copper pipe

Discuss Plastic pipe verus copper pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mark_mc

I used to be a copper only plumber and still use a lot of copper. but on some jobs i have used plastic pipe and plastic fittings never under concrete floors or anywhere like that.

but plastic pipe is handy and to tell the truth takes a pipe from A-B and then to C just as good as any type of pipe.

and in the current climate where copper is so expensive and our customers have less cash we have to go with plastic.

me personally I will be using plastic pipe more than ever will still do all exposed work in copper but where it is not to be seen again i think plastic is the way to go.

plastic with compression is a better job and where its under floors i tend to use compression with pfte round the olive.

like anything it has to be tested hep20 recommend testing to 16bar and i think this is where the bad press is no-one tests to this pressure and expect all to be ok. at 10 bar you start to hear the fitting click and the teeth take hold, so if untested with heat on and off and pipe expanding and contracting without a test off course over time the fittng may fail

any other views on plastic pipe in are trade.

I'm a fan of pipe in pipe back to manifolds no joints under floor

Plastic pipe is great, if fitted correctly! most of the problems you get from it is poor installation. Not enough clipping, not cut correctly, not pressure tested etc....

I have first fixed a site of 120+ family houses and only had one fitting leak after passing the pressure testing and that was a drip due to a scratch on the pipe into a fitting. I solved any further problems like this by adjusting my pressure testing into 3 stages.... 1 test at 1.5-2 bar (working pressure), 2 test at 5bar (2x working pressure) and then max manufactures recommended pressure which can range from 10bar to 18bar.