Discuss Gravity fed hw system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeebeedee

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
I have little experience on these old systems. A mates bought a house with the setup shown. Had a quick look today, heating on boiler and pump fires rads heat up. Hw only pump goes off boiler cycles, flow gets red hot returns cold. Any ideas?
image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 26
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 20
The hw tank is directly above the boiler. Is this normal for gravity hw set up?

Pumped heating gravity hot water, I've only ever seen gravity hot water with 28mm pipe work though.

Yes Normal for grav. But don't think that boiler is designed for grav hw. It should be a fully pumped system i would just bosh in a two port and a bypass - gate vale

Yep I can see that now, teach me to take a quick look and start flapping my gums :90:

Yes Normal for grav. But don't think that boiler is designed for grav hw. It should be a fully pumped system i would just bosh in a two port and a bypass - gate vale

Thats what I suggested would be easy enough 2 port on the flow to the heating circuit.

Will be be done in the near future he's having the damp sorted first and kitchen/bathroom done. In the meantime any ideas on how to stop the boiler cycling for now?

When you say having damp sorted not got the injection cowboys in has he? The solution is not injection it's ventilation.

When you say having damp sorted not got the injection cowboys in has he? The solution is not injection it's ventilation.

No a builder mate of ours is doing it, cowboys where in previously "injecting" for the previous owner. One of the lads has striped it back to the brick and. It's getting tanked Monday whatever that means