Search the forum,

Discuss DIY air conditioning system in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

DIY air conditioning system. I've got lots of plumbing experience and want to install my own a/c split system 3 to 1. I intend having it commissioned by an F Gas qualified company. When l tried to buy the system the supplier want all details of the F Gas registered 'installer' before releasing the goods. I explained what l wanted to do but they insist it cannot be installed by me dispite having it commissioned by a registered company. Can anyone in the know or anyone that has done this give me any advice?

Go find another person who will sell you the A/Cond, without asking so many questions.

I hope you're not trying to install a VRV /VRF system yourself.

Firstly you'll need to find a company / individual who are F-Gas registered and confirm that they will do the final connections and commissioning, I think you'll struggle.
If you can find one then get them to design the system and supply it and agree with you how much of the installation work you can do.

If you're a DIY'er, then this system is probably beyond your realms.

I doubt anyone would want to sign off on the works, or even for that fact commission the works.
VRF systems are slightly complicated and very few people will commission works that they have not undertaken.

Offer the job to someone and assist with labour - that's your best bet

I understand what you are saying however l have City& Guilds level1,2,3 in industrial/ commercial boiler technology. I'm also a skilled sheet metal worker with heating, cooling and ventilation ducting experience. Installing an air conditioning system is not rocket science. I wanted to do it myself as a project to keep me busy since retiring. I have arranged a company to do the final commissioning but l am not FGas registered to do the installation.