Currently reading:
Complete new system - but what type to go for

Discuss Complete new system - but what type to go for in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

BornInABarn

HI all, I'm a newbie here so I hope I'm in the right place on the forum.

I'm in the process of moving home from a modern bungalow with heating by a nice reliable oil fired Firebird Kitchen 70 90 boiler - hopefully to a completed barn conversion which has no central heating at the moment. So I'd be grateful for some advice on what to get fitted. Sadly its an area without gas so I guess it has to be Oil or Electric ?

We'd be looking to centrally heat the entire ground floor (utility room, kitchen, lounge, hallway, WC, bedroom & ensuite, office), which is a 60 foot length in the middle with a 20 foot room going off at 90 degrees at each end, so a sort of square cornered C shape.

I guess I'll need the boiler, 1 single rad for the Utility room, 1 double rad for the kitchen, 1 double rad for lounge which also has an open fireplace, 1 single for the hallway, 1 single for the WC, 1 double and 1 single in the bedroom and en-suite and a final single for the office.

If anybody can give me advice on alternative types and a gut feel for install costs I'd be a happy camper. Thank you.

underfloor downstairs
rads upstairs

lpg or oil for me
solar looks soooooo ugly

Solar looks great
azurydy5.jpg
jy9avery.jpg
etuny4ej.jpg

underfloor downstairs
rads upstairs

lpg or oil for me
solar looks soooooo ugly

First line spot on, that's what I would do, never never ever put UFH on the first floor unless the first floor is concrete slab, why because if you put UFH on first floor and it's timber you will never get to the other services again, waste,electric, data, phone, unless you take the ceiling down.