Discuss Working On My Vocal Work (Payment) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I have been plumbing for around 16 months ,but I think I’m having issues with the ”Ohhs and ahhs”. I have completed some jobs where the customer has not paid, the latest was a new basin and some other general plumbing work, all was going fine until I asked for payment. The customer was totally happy with the work carried out. The customer asked me if I could come back tomorrow and she’d pay me. Arrived next day at the aranged time and no answer, despite the tv being on. She has now sent me a text saying she can’t pay. I’ve had 14 jobs I’ve completed where the customer has either paid nothing or a fraction of the cost of the work completed. I think I need help from experienced plumbers on my vocal work and getting the “ohhs and ahhs” just right, so I get paid. My prices are average and I work to good standards. I’m thinking of taking my Gas next year and I don’t want this sort of thing occurring on boiler installs for example. Many thanks Steve

Do you provide a quote or estimate before you start?

Both depends on the job of small normally quote if big job / risk of going wrong estimate

A quote is a quote

An estimate is an estimate

Proving either would reduce the chances of the issues the op is facing .

True but a quote is fixed an estimat isn't

That’s a shocking rate of non payers.
In 22 years of self employment, I’ve had 2 non payers.
Maybe I’m lucky. Or is it that I don’t let them have a chance at not paying.

Thats Dire mate you will be out of business in no time at that rate , you need to provide a written or printed estimate for each job you take on and agree the terms of payment before starting . Self employed plumber you need to be making £200 a day or you may aswell work on the books , don't be afraid to ask for part payment up front either that way your not gonna take such a bit hit if you have a non payer . Cheers kop