Discuss shower kw output and cable size in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

solodiver2001

Hi all,i recently fitted a 10.5 kw shower,to a 6mm cable feed existing cable .Now the customer says its overheated and could have caused a fire.He says i have to install a lower kw output shower , i have to buy the shower i badly advised them so they say.As i am a plumber and not a spark.
where do i stand and do i have to buy him a new shower with a lower out put to meet the cable size.
6mm cable 45amp max 10.5 kw 43 amp so thought i`d get away with it then was told how long is the lenghth of cable etc over my head thats why im a plumber.
the customer picked the shower i fitted it,should they have asked a spark for his input or should i have done this?

thanks Steve

Last edited by a moderator:
unforunatley as you installed its down to you i think - if it was over your head then maybe a lesson learnt here - when you get electrickery involved get an electrickian in.

as a rule though anything above 8.5KW will need 10mm cable into the consumer unit - but always best to get it checked by professional

Where did you get the 45 amp max rating for the cable from? The rating of a cable depends on things such as installation method (running through insulation etc) and length as well as cross sectional area. What size fuse/MCB was this on as that is the main issue as too high a rating is a bad fire risk. 10.5kw/230v would produce a current of 45.66A so this should be on a 50A MCB with a 10mm cable. As a rule of thumb, don't go over 8.5kw on a 40A breaker with a 6mm cable.

i would of said 10mm but best advice is to get an electrian you dont want a fire in the customers house could cost you alot more, your reputation too!!