Discuss Plumbing Skills Today!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jim1

Hi All

I have only recently joined the forum, and have had a look around the various threads. I have been a Plumber Since 1985 and passed bothe the craft Skills and Avanced crafts 3 years later in the days when pen and paper were king and you had to prove your knowledge by writing it down etc. I have noticed that a lot of the threads are having a good old dig at "Fast Track Training", i have left a couple of replys as to what i think, but what other choice do adult learners have if they don't want to go to college.

I am a teacher of Plumbing and get a large variety of people through the door and very quickly squash their aspirations of being millionairres over night. With the new qualifications coming out (That should have been ready last year) I think its up to us that have the experience and training to keep badgering the powers that be at C&G to police these training centres more rigidly and shut them down if standards are not being met and maintained. Don't bother writing to inform them of a visit, just turn up on the doorstep, if there's nothing to hide, whats the problem?

I have also wrote to C&G on a number of occassions with suggestions for training course content, but it would carry more weight if practicing plumbers were to voice there opinions and put forward new suggestions. Its very easy to condemn, so lets gets our collective skills together and come up with a better solution

Hi jim,

im not sure your suggestion to C&G will carry much weight as they dont decide the content, as you are probably aware summitskills do that. C&G can only interpret it and design assessments to meet their outcomes