Search the forum,

Discuss How many turns when fitting compression isolation valve? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

I've never done one before and, as usual, Google is offering conflicting advice. I'm fitting one of these (from Screwfix, 15mm). I've read that ...
  • Over tightening is the commonest cause of leaks.
  • Once you've got it finger tight, you need to tighten a further half turn / full turn / one and a half turns / quarter turn / until it feels "right".
  • Don't forget that over tightening is the commonest cause of leaks!
Obviously, it depends on the size and type of fitting so I was wondering if anybody had any experience of these specific fittings. I'm thinking they must be very commonly used - there are certainly plenty of existing ones around my house.

If you had, my question is ... once finger tight, how much more tightening is needed? i.e. quarter turn, half turn, full turn, etc. I don't want to do it because, as we all know ... over tightening is the commonest cause of leaks!

Thanks everybody and have a great weekend!

Isolation Valve.jpg

Well I've just done some recently as an amateur to fix my kitchen tap. . .

First I take it you are doing water not gas (gas requires special qualifications and rules different)

My take: Use copper olives and a dab of sealer. I'm behind the times and my choice of Fernox LSX is a bit odd perhaps these days.

The tightening depends a bit on the fitting and the pipe, but mine go about 1/4 to 1/2. I always stop tightening if the fitting creaks/groans as I guess that is the olive compressing and the fitting juddering along the olive to take up the slack. So stop at that point because you have some compression. If in doubt stop.