Currently reading:
Hi, Help needed - thinking of starting up

Discuss Hi, Help needed - thinking of starting up in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rodders

Hi everyone.

This is a great forum and have spent some time reading some threads. I think it's great everyone can share their knowledge and expertise.

Two weeks before Christmas I was made redundant. I was an apprentice gas engineer and had gained my Level 2 Domestic Plumbing NVQ and my ACS assessment (CCN1, CENWAT, CKR1, CPA1, & HTR1). As I was made redundant I did not finish my 3 year apprenticeship and only had 15 months on-site experience. I missed out on my Level 3 NVQ.

However, I am looking to set myself up and wanted some advice.

I would be looking to start with small jobs such as the odd cold radiator, powerflushing, rad changes, adding a radiator to an existing system, frozen condense pipes (and maybe re-routing condense internally in the house). Things like that. Once I gain a customer base and get confidence I would be looking to do boiler services and boiler changes.

The first thing I was thinking about was a van - I read somewhere on here about people with "small" vans and them wishing they had a bigger van. Would it be ideal to start with a big van even though for a few months I may not need all that room? What are peoples views on a 2006 - 2009 Vauxhall Vivaro? Do they have enough space (short wheel base)? Are they any good? Some online reviews of that van seem ok.

Secondly is the cost of setting up. Seems you need to be in mega money to start! I only have a few very basic hand tools, so would need to buy everything! I hate to buy cheap (and buy twice) so good tools aren't cheap. Are there any grants to help young (25 years old lol) people set up a business. The Job Centre reckon I have to be out of work 6 months to be eligible for a 300 quid grant!