Discuss Heatslave 15/19 slow to heat HW in the mornings in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SplendiferousII

Hi guys.

Newbie here and as usual my first post is because I have a problem.

I have an older Worcester Heatslave 15/19 oil fired boiler I purchased second hand and installed myself.

I am not sure of the terminology but I have installed it in line, - ie/ I have no header tank or immersion tank.

So far its been good but this morning the water took ages to warm up. (the HW is on constant)

I suspect the water storage part is not functioning as it should (failed bladder maybe?). It eventually got up to temp and all was fine there after.

However I don’t want to be waiting 5 mins every morning for the HW to get up to temp.

Thanks.

SplendiferousII

Second hand boiler! Dodgy indeed, you've just bought somebody else's problems.

5 mins is a small price to pay.

How did you set up the combustion?

Could be several things, several of them, expensive, you really need some one who knows what they are doing to take a look otherwise you will be shooting in the dark. Where are you located there may be someone local to you on here that is willing to have a look.

Thanks for your input Sam. I wouldn’t be on here asking questions if I had the money my friend.

The boiler has taken a turn for the worst this morning, it seems to warm up quickly again but the burner seems to cut in and out (cycling about every 30 seconds)

However, if I turn the tap off it fires straight up again – 30 secs later cuts out.

Hi SimonG. I know buying a second hand boiler is far from ideal but for £100 I had the whole lot, tank, boiler, rads, fire valve – including some copper pipe to run between the rads.