Discuss Compliancy certificate in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

armourer

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi All,

I installed a boiler for a mate of mine about 8 years ago (straight combi for combi boiler swop).

I really did do it as a favour and no money changed hands just went up on a weekend and stayed over for a few beers.

Anyway he has just sold his house and he has been asked to provide a buildings regs compliancy certificate.

Now I am a breakdown engineer for a company not an installer usually (although I do still have my own gas safe reg).

I filled out the commissioning cert in the back of the book and registered it with the manufacturer to start his warrenty.

Should I have done more than this? or can I retrospectivly issue something?

To make matters worse he lives the other end of the country so not easy just to pop in.

[DLMURL]https://engineers.User PlumbersForums.net Instead - Copy the content, don't link to it.co.uk/Notifications.aspx[/DLMURL]

Last edited by a moderator:
Register it retrospectively with GSR. Lessons to be learnt for those who do not register the installs. This is happening time and time again. Some say the HIP's are out of the window, but the building reg certs are still required. Good luck with the registration of this certificate. Had a similar situation with a part P cert and Oil boiler part L cert when trying to buy a property. They tried fobbing me off with the test certificates, told them where to go. Caused the vendor, electrician and OFTEC man loads of grief.

Last edited:
bit late for building regs notification that needs completing within 30 days of work taking place, best your mate can do is get an inspection and safety cert issued.

Cheers lads. I'll give gas safe a call on Monday and see how best to do this.

Like I said Im not an installer but it is all legit.

I am qualified and competent and it was done as a favour and no reward.