Discuss Recommendations for cheap core drill, infrequent use, usually 40mm max in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

WaterTight

Esteemed
Plumber
Subscribed
Not so cheap it will be hard work but not overkill for couple uses a month for 40mm holes.

I've tried to core a few 40mm holes with this

Bosch GBH 2400 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V | NoLinkingToThis

And it works but keeps locking so guess not what it's meant for. Or it's on it's way out. Or I was holding it backwards. Or it was actually a dream. Come to think of it I was being assisted by a baboon in a tuxedo.

I bought the Sparky one from Screwfix. Really good value and loads of power. I bought the Erbauer dry core drill set to go with it and both are still going strong.

I've got the Titan 5kg drill to start me off.
Its got a safety clutch and will get you through a wall without too much trouble.

For 60 -70 quid it's perfect for me as I'm just starting out. Will replace with a much more expensive one in the future. If it dies within a year then it's ok because still under warranty.

Not the most professional looking thing.
Looks cheap as hell to be honest but its a sensible option for me

Was browsing the core bits on screwfix from the above link and spotted this Plumbers core drill set
What a waste of time for a plumber. None of the sizes are useful for a plumber as far as I can see. I have a 35mm and a 43mm core for wastes and that's it, neither of which are in this set. There's a 30mm? a 50mm? and a 66mm?
And to get back on topic, I just use my Dewalt SDS very slowly to core drill, the max rating for masonry is about 25mm for my drill but I think that's based on full bore drilling and I guess it doesn't apply to core drilling. Either way, slow and steady means I still get to use the drill tomorrow :)

Try spraying water at the core when drilling, that way it cuts easier and you will get away with your drill.