Currently reading:
Halstead Ace Boiler gone into Lockout

Discuss Halstead Ace Boiler gone into Lockout in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Nicola G

Morning Folks,

I am a lawyer and not a plumber or technical whizz kid of any sort, but was looking for some guidance on our wretched bolier.

My other half ran a bath last night and when he was in it I was in the kitchen and heard a sort of hissing/dripping noise from the boiler area. I thought it might have been our outside tap still running, but when I looked out the window it was off.

There was no heating or hot water being ran at that point so I shouted on him and told him to come and have a listen. He turned the boiler off at the mains and then we switched everything back on. When we turned it off the hissing continued but when we turned it back on the hissing stopped, but the big red Lockout light came on and we have no heating or hot water.

The pressure dropped ever so slightly and so my he raised the pressure again to about 1 1/2 (which is where it was before when it was working). Still the same. The hissing noise hasnt started again but neither has the boiler.

I have asked a gas engineer to come and he is due tomorrow, but I would like to have an idea of what you guys think it might be before he comes.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as we had to shower in cold water this morning, which is less than pleasant !

Thanks

Nicola

Have you tried re-setting it? Depends on what model Ace you have, early or HE as to how to do this? the fault could be a multitude of possiblities, hissing could be steam? ya gonna have to wait for your gasman and hope it's nothing too serious! :)

Hi thanks for getting back to me