Discuss Vertical Flue Termination in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

PriestyUK

Gas Engineer
Hi lads, just been to price a job to replace a OLD big bad boy Ferroli combi boiler which is in a habitable loft space. My problem is the current vertical flue terminates in between two opening velux windows 900mm one side and 400mm the other, pretty much in line, not above them and not below them. Told him this is unsafe and wont meet current standards when I install the new boiler (Viessmann 100-W 30kW Combi) His a chippy by trade, if he converted these windows properly to not open ever again and not by just thumping in a few screws would this then pass reg wise? His not keen on relocating the boiler to be fair Current boiler is proper ducked, and I have isolated and made safe anyhow. Pretty much got the job as his a good mate but your views will be greatly welcomed :)

No you cant as when he sells the place and newbies reopen the windows then what, why not use some 45s and reroute the flue to a safe termination. In case you think you can get away with it, take note a gsr chappie is now doing time for a similar thing when someone then died in a cornish hotel

then you had better find an alternative or your bum will be hung out to dry if it goes wrong in years to come

if the windows are fixed and require tools and work to open them then id be happy. If somebody else moves in and puts in new windows then they have broken the regs, not the person fitting the boiler years before. Put something in writing to cover yourself, take pictures etc.....

i could fit a boiler and next week some builder could fit a vent next to the flue, whos fault is it? not blummin mine. We are all responsible for our own actions, if i brake the electrical regs i cant blame the spark who was last there.

Last edited: