Search the forum,

Discuss How to orient elbow adapter correctly? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,

I'm new to plumbing so there may be an obvious answer to this!

As you can see in the photo below, on the cold inlet of this mixer unit I have used an elbow fitting to ensure the hose is straight without any bends necessary. However when I try to use the same elbow fitment on the hot inlet, when fully screwed in and tight the fitment faces up rather than down where I need it to.

IMG_1132.jpeg

Any help and advice would be great.

Thanks all

Sorry to say you can’t install that mixer on water regs (uk water laws) as it’s in vicinity of a cat 5 appliance eg toilet the mixer also must comply with cat 5 regs

Thankyou - I did try that originally, but seemingly no matter how many wraps of PTFE, it it doesn''t make a difference to the final orientation
You don't necessarily need to tighten it till it stops though, do you?

Getting back to Shaun's point, if you can put the end of the hose in the WC pan then it is essentially an illegal installation under UK law... unless you supply the water via a break tank to protect the mains (your neighbours - not just you) from possible contamination.

You can have an actual bidet next to a WC, but what you have there is a kind of hose thing you use while sitting on the loo.

I see - the bidet does have backflow prevention valve to help with that- but as I understand, still technically not up to regulations. What is the real world risk of this? I'm not arguing, genuinely curious.

Regarding the not tightening it until it stops, I tried to stop turning it when it reaached the correct orientation, but it was still fizzing/dripping considerably - would the best bet to be put even more PTFE on?