Search the forum,

Discuss Working evenings & weekends in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Booch

Hi all im new to this so sorry if I have posted in the wrong section.

I am currently in full time employment as a domestic gas instalation & service engineer for a local company. I work under their gas safe registration, I want to get out on my own in the next couple of years but am finding it hard to save any money as a buffer when I do start due to morgage & a family on one income.

If I get my own gas safe registration can I adverise my own services for evening and weekend work using my own van and tools. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yes you can, but some firms are funny about people having there own gas safe registration. Personally I would tell them to "go away". I don't see how a firm can stop you having your own and doing your own bits and bobs.

But as far as doing your own work goes as long as you have your own gas safe and public liability your fine to do your own thing.

Thanks great help im going to go for it I need to start saving and beside getting a evening job this is the only way. Also should build up a client base for when I do set up.

Thanks great help im going to go for it I need to start saving and beside getting a evening job this is the only way. Also should build up a client base for when I do set up.

I'd go for it mate, its the best way to start up on your own. When I started up I was dropped in the deep end as I was made redundant and I just had to go for it. So I contract during the day and do my own bits and bobs in the afternoons and saturdays. Slowly but surely I'm getting there and have had my first bit of repeat business in the last few weeks. Good luck mate