Search the forum,

Discuss Why would a pressure relief valve fail like this ? in the Commercial and Industrial Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello im a new member and hoping for some experienced advise

Im a plumber with 12 years experianced and have recently started working in a super luxury 35 story tower block in london all very expensive

Anyway a prv on the hot water exploded the other day inside a riser cupboard and flooded the entire building. 12 bar of pressure was behind this leak.

By looking at the photos you can see the plastic head of the prv has blown off causing £££££ of damage.

Why would this happen ?

Will it happen again ?

Can anything be done to prevent it ?

Should this valve be serviced in any sort of way ?

Thanks alot

Attachments

• 20210226_115547.jpg
    20210226_115547.jpg
    342.1 KB · Views: 48
The obvious answer is that the 12 bar or maybe actually higher at the time of failure exceeded the maximum pressure of the valve.
Is it on the HOT, ?
Have you checked to see the max working pressure AND TEMPERATURE for the valve, what make is it?

And untill a positive answer is found I'd say all similar PRVs in the building are at risk of failure.

Last edited:
Could of been knocked on install and had a crack in it ?

Is the 12 bar supply from a pump? Faulty pump controller perhaps?

What make is the PRV? Is it genuine or counterfeit? If it's a decent brand contact the manufacturer and ask their technical dept for advice.

The obvious answer is that the 12 bar or maybe actually higher at the time of failure exceeded the maximum pressure of the valve.
Is it on the HOT, ?
Have you checked to see the max working pressure AND TEMPERATURE for the valve, what make is it?

And untill a positive answer is found I'd say all similar PRVs in the building are at risk of failure.