Search the forum,

Discuss What is this leaking valve near the central heating pump? in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hey all, I'm relatively new to DIY pluming and I've found this forum super helpful so far This is my first time posting.

I've got a leaking isolating valve on one of the pipes running I think back to the boiler from just after the central heating pump. I'm pretty sure I've read that this specific kind of valve ought not to be used on a central heating system - and if they are, are prone to leaking? So rather than me replacing it like-for-like, I'm trying to understand what the purpose of it being there is, and what I should replace it with!

I'll do my best to describe where the valve in question is. In between the central heating pump and the mid-position valve, the 22mm section of pipe tees off towards an expansion vessel, also in 22mm. In turn, the pipe to the expansion vessel tees off in 15mm, and this is where the leaky isolating valve is. I think that pipe then goes back towards the boiler, as it is joined by the return from the hot water tank. Is this a bypass valve? In which case, could I replace it with an auto bypass valve like this one?

Any pointers on what to replace it with and also just clarity on what the valve is there for would be greatly appreciated!

Artboard Copy.png

1. Its a gate valve, and perfectly OK for use in central heating. Virtually every pump has one of these either side to enable the pump to be changed without draining the system.