Search the forum,

Discuss What did i do wrong? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

15878267478982688746538566570112.jpg

So, first plumbing job in years, bought solder, flux and MAP gas as shown.
15mm copper pipe, shined up, fluxed, absolute failure!
I'm a sparks by trade and solder a lot but not with a flame.
Am I right to assume map is far to hot for an amateur to work with, I cooked the pipe!
Advice where I'm going wrong please, I cant afford a plumber!
Cheers.
Paul.
[automerge]1587827746[/automerge]
15878267478982688746538566570112.jpg

So, first plumbing job in years, bought solder, flux and MAP gas as shown.
15mm copper pipe, shined up, fluxed, absolute failure!
I'm a sparks by trade and solder a lot but not with a flame.
Am I right to assume map is far to hot for an amateur to work with, I cooked the pipe!
Advice where I'm going wrong please, I cant afford a plumber!
Cheers.
Paul.

As a follow up, these bits are for a shower mixer, can I use JG speedfit for the link to the shower head with the supplied compression fitting or must I use a plastic fitting?
15878276330514437517376217211686.jpg

Last edited:
Is it going to get complicated and require bits?
I struggle to get out obviously at the mo.
Is it better to use copper and teach myself how to set copper pipe or is there an easy way to use the plastic?
Cheers

Too hot, way too hot. Mapps fine, it's all I use but turn your flame down and keep pulling away from work and test with solder. Get yourself some lead free solder as well if you're working on potable water.

That's a super seal insert you've used on the speed fit. Not suitable for compression fittings and wont be covered by warranty if it all goes breasticles up.

Too much heat with the soldering. And the top shower connection
looks like it needs a swivels connector or a female adapter. It hasn't got a machine face for the compression ring.
[automerge]1587831055[/automerge]