Search the forum,

Discuss Water usage - why is it so high? in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all
This is only about my third/fourth post, so go easy. Also, I'm only an enthusiastic amateur, not a pro...

I'm having issues with the waterboard and can't work out what's happening. For the past three months, they're saying we're using a huge quantity of water - 700 litres per day at least. We've been in the house for 10 years, so we know that typically we use c.400 litre per day. Over the past few six month periods (three or four periods, I think) they had to average our bills, as there was a water leak down the road, so everyone in the road had an incorrect reading for almost two years.

From October, our plumbing set-up was completely changed, as we've rebuilt the entire house.
We've gone from:
Mains pressure (6.5 bar), combi boiler, c.15mm (actually imperial, so I think that's half inch) supply pipe from the metre. Our flow rate was 15-20 litres per min (according to the outside tap). We had one family bathroom with a bath and one ensuite with a main pressure shower (no bath). 15mm copper piping everywhere. GFCH and rads.
Washing machine - Miele c.2008
Dishwasher - Miele c.2008
Outside tap

To our new system:
UFH
New gas boiler
UVC for the hot water, which is fed via a copper loop (with a pump) - but regulated to 3.5 bar
New water softener - Kinetico- appears to circle/clean c. one a day for about 12mins. It's one that only softens what it uses, it's not an electric one that cycles regardless
Same washing machine
New dishwater
Cold water for the house is also on a loop - 20mm pex-al-pex which feeds to manifolds by each bathroom/kitchen taps and then we have 16mm pex-al-pex to the various appliances/taps
We have a low-loss header and an expansion vessel thing. I have no idea what they are though.
We also replaced the pipe from the metre to the house with a plastic metric one - I think it was a 28mm or 32mm, can't remember