Search the forum,

Discuss water regulations and self-certification in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennie

Gas Engineer
Hi all,

I'm a student plumber on an NVQ2 plumbing/heating course. At some point, I'll do the BPEC water regs certificate.

But in the meantime, I'd be grateful for advice about self-certification and water regulations? Which jobs need to be certified them? And who could certify them if you don't have a certificate?

Thanks

Jennie

here is a list of job which need a certificate which can be issued by an approved plumber The installation of a water fitting in connection with:
1. The erection of a building or other structure, not being a
pond or swimming pool
2. The extension or alteration of a water system on any
premises other than a house (#)
3. A material change of use of any premises
4. The installation of:
a. a bath having a capacity, as measured to the centre
line of the overflow, of more than 230 litres (*)
b. a bidet with an ascending spray or flexible hose (#)
c. a shower unit of a type specified by the Regulator
(none are currently specified) (*)
d. a pump or booster drawing more than 12 litres per
minute, connected directly or indirectly to a supply
pipe
e. a unit which incorporates reverse osmosis.
f. a water treatment unit which produces a wastewater
discharge or which requires the use of water for
regeneration or cleaning
g. a reduced pressure zone (RPZ) valve assembly or
other mechanical device for protection against a
fluid which is in Fluid Category 4 or 5
h. a garden watering system unless designed to be
operated by hand (*)
i. any water system laid outside a building either less
than 750mm or more than 1350mm below ground
level.
5. The construction of a pond or swimming pool over
10,000 litres capacity, designed to be replenished
automatically with water supplied by a public water
supplier. (*)