Search the forum,

Discuss Water damaged ceiling in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi everyone I am a self employed plumber working in Scotland, around 2 months ago I had disconnected a water tank up a loft. When I was draining the tank through the standing drain pipe a bit of water spilled because of the previous plumber who converted the heating side had disconnected the drain from the F&E tank and left it as an open end. Small amount of water dripped down for about 5 minutes. A week later I received an aggressive phone call stating the ceiling had fallen down so I offered to pay for any repairs but wasn't given the chance before the tenant had quotes from elsewhere so I offered to go through insurance and didn't hear any reply until the work was done and it was a bill that is exceptionally high for replacing a ceiling. I'm now getting threats via letters and phone calls for payment. Anyone had a similar experience or know what my options are.

I will also state I've not seen any proof this has even happened yet and not are not willing to give a breakdown of the bill

How ever careful you are sometimes accidents happen you should of got the repair sorted now your having to pay through the nose lesson learned. What's the excess on your insurance if the claim is more than that then pass your insurance details to the irate customer and let them deal with it . Kop

Probably not what you want to here - but did you tell them at the time what had happened - or did you just leave hoping for the best?

If you know that you have spilt water - particularly onto plaster board or lathe and plaster - deal with it immediately. Tell the customer what has happened, what you are going to do and the timescale it is going to take.

If you are culpable and the customer discovers the issue then undertakes the repair - you are always going to be on the back foot agreeing the cost