Search the forum,

Discuss Washing machine waste pipe connection in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kramer

Hi, a quick question or 2 from a complete novice...

My washing machine had been leaking, I discovered the waste hose was sitting in a 90 degree PVC waste pipe and was clogged up with some pretty disgusting sludge. I didn't want to reuse the PVC waste pipe so I discarded it and replaced it with a hose connector as you can see from the photo below.

IMAG0153.jpg

Unfortunately I've ripped the door seal of my washing machine while moving it around so I can't test out the connection . I was thinking of buying a washer dryer anyway so I was just wondering if the plumbing looks suitable to connect the new machine to? I was a bit concerned that drain water could flow back into the machine. I have ran the taps in the basin and no water has came out the connector.

Also, I would like to turn off the water supply to the washing machine without turning off the supply to the sink. I tightened the screw in the valve next to the inlet hose as far as it would go but it didn't effect the flow of water coming out. Am I doing something wrong or is it broken?

IMAG0154.jpg

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for letting me know stoker, hopefully you can see them now?

Last edited by a moderator:
The pipe work looks ok.
If you route the washing machine waste hose through the sink unit high up, you should have no problems with back flow.
Remember to fit a jubilee clip on the spigot.
The inlet valve is missing its handle, they usually break off when the spindle becomes stiff.
Turn of the mains stopcock and change the inlet valve.

also new machines tend to be only cold water feed,
so cut and cap the hot washing machine tap as close to the tee as possible.

ps- welcome to the forum.

i agree with the above. you will need to change the cold fed valve if it is too stiff to turn.

Status