Search the forum,

Discuss vented mains pressure hot water flow problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

action jackson

Evening all.

I'm a regular user of the tiling forum but have popped over here to see if someone can help me work out what the problem is with my hot water flow issue? I have already had a plumber in but he is struggling to work out the problem.

I live in a first floor flat and believe i have a mains pressure, vented hot water system with 2 x electric immersion heaters. I'm by no means an expert but i believe the system consists of a water cylinder with internal coil, a separate header tank, an expansion vessel and a thermostatic mixing valve.

The issue i have is that the hot water flow has dropped off dramatically in the last couple of weeks, making it un-useable for running a bath or having a shower. Another issue that may be related is the header tank in the cylinder is continually overflowing and running through the overflow pipe. I haven't experienced this in the last 7 yrs.

About 2 months ago i had a whirlpool bath fitted with a concealed dornbrachet mixer unit and thermostatic control for bath and shower. No problems were experienced when initially installed.

The pressure in the expansion vessel was checked on Friday and was zero psi. I have pumped up to 1 bar and so far the pressure has remained stable, although it hasn't fixed the problem.

I was advised that maybe the thermostatic mixer valve for the shower/bath could be letting mains pressure pass into the hot water circuit due to the in balance with hot and cold? Is this possible and would this cause the water level in the cylinder to rise?