Search the forum,

Discuss Vaillant ecoTEC plus 637 with Nest or maybe SensoHome in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, A newbie here but need expert advice,

I have installers who have started fitting the boiler (Vaillant ecoTEC plus 637) replacing an old water tank loft system and cylinder in the cupboard
I'm also installing a horizontal megaflo (tempest)

Okay, so they purchased the Valliant vsmart kit with it which I thought is dated as currently, I have a Hive thermostat installed from my previous owner (just moved in a few months ago)

I looked on Vaillants website and they have something called the SensoHome thermostat but I cannot find reviews, installations, or anything as it's quite new (2020).
I spoke with Vaillant and of course, they will talk it up. Has anyone used this yet or installed it?

I'd prefer to go with Nest but that is from a user perspective and I wanted to know if this is common in a system unvented installation and will it talk to the boiler okay?

Even on Vaillant website, they say nest is fine. but I worry about the eBus vs Openthem technologies. (please give me your thoughts)
I'm just learning this stuff now so forgive my lack of knowledge

I need to make a decision this week.

Thanks in advance

Dwain

Opentherm (nest) cant communicate with a vaillant boiler. It will just work as a on/off stat albeit a smart one.

vsmart uses ebus so can communicate with the boiler to aid modulations and also uses local weather station data.

I don’t know anything about the senso range of controls
So basically, if I went down the Nest route the best it can do is switch on and off based on its functionality like schedules or ITTT functions.
Whereas going with the Vaillant branded kit and language that uses eBus then it "could" be smarter and use it inbuilt functions modularisation etc
SensoHome ( sensoHOME / sensoHOME RF room thermostat - Vaillant - https://www.vaillant.co.uk/for-installers/products/sensohome-sensohome-rf-room-thermostat-72128.html)