Search the forum,

Discuss Unvented hot water system noise when hot water demand is made in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kirks06

Hi all,

Ready for War and Peace ? Hope you are all sitting comfortably, so let me begin...p.s. I am not a plumber, I work in IT so sorry if incorrect or wrong terms used !

We have a unvented hot water system, installed in Jan 2014. FlowMaster cylinder; Zilmet 11H HY-PRO (18ltr / 3bar pre-charged) expansion vessel, pressure relief valves etc....installation of cylinder completed during a complete house renovation, i.e. entirely new hot water and heating system, pipework (all copper), boiler the lot..

The system has been working perfectly for 2.5 years, then approx 2 months ago we started experiencing problems which have resulted in fixes, which have resulted in more problems.......

Problem No.1- Dripping coming from the tundish.
Resolution - Plumber identified the problem as an issue with the expansion vessel. This was completely full of water. Expansion vessel replaced. Inlet valves not replaced. Dripping stopped.

Problem No.2 - A couple of days after expansion vessel replaced...when demanding hot water from all sources (shower mix taps, single hot water taps in bath/sinks/etc...) would result in what I can only describe as "whoopee" cushion style noise, combined with a vibration throughout the entire house.
Resolution - Same plumber as above identified the problem with the inlet valves. Replaced inlet valves. This "fix" has not resolved the issue and we now have a situation where, not every time, but in the majority of cases when hot water is demanded we end up with the "noise", vibration, and wide awake household when I get up early for a shower before work !

I have attached a couple of images. 1. The valves that have been replaced; 2. Pressure gauge.