Search the forum,

Discuss Unvented Cylinder Advice in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi,
I'm an Electrician by trade. I've just moved into a New Build flat, where there is no Gas. I have a water cylinder named ThermaQ Evocyl that has two immersion heaters. When I moved in they told me to keep the bottom immersion on all the time and use the top immersion if I needed more hot water.
There's no timer or controls for it anywhere. This seems a bit crazy to me.
Are these tanks designed to be on 24/7?
Will this destroy my electricity bill?
I feel like I want to put a timer on it, but I'd like to see what you guys think before I start altering anything.

In short the cylinder holds its heat for a very long time so immersion stat once satisfied will only come on when temperature drops in the cylinder. So no your bill won’t be too much extra but you can add timers if you want

The bottom heater would usually be on a timer and you'd have a 2 rate Electric meter for Economy 7.
Is there a timer within the Consumer unit or next to the meter?

I would ask the supplier if / what’s the prices for eco 7 then just wire the bottom into a timer / eco 7 kit

and the top into a boost switch

Hi,
I'm an Electrician by trade. I've just moved into a New Build flat, where there is no Gas. I have a water cylinder named ThermaQ Evocyl that has two immersion heaters. When I moved in they told me to keep the bottom immersion on all the time and use the top immersion if I needed more hot water.
There's no timer or controls for it anywhere. This seems a bit crazy to me.
Are these tanks designed to be on 24/7?
Will this destroy my electricity bill?
I feel like I want to put a timer on it, but I'd like to see what you guys think before I start altering anything.
What size is the cylinder (in gallons or litres)?

I've attached a photo with lots of information on it.

Attachments

• Photo 10-02-2021, 09 13 11.jpg
    Photo 10-02-2021, 09 13 11.jpg
    286.2 KB · Views: 14