Search the forum,

Discuss Unknown Wire in Airing Cupboard - help please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi Everyone,.

My wife has asked me to tidy up our airing cupboard, which is next to the bathroom... Pipe boxing in and a paint job... Nothing too serious... I'm a complete novice but should be able to manage this...

When I've looked at it today there appears to be a Green electrical wire coming from the floor up into the wall... Have no idea what this is for and it is right in the way of where I want to box the piping.

Does anyone know what this if for... Is it a vital wire.

It comes from the floor (kitchen below) and leads into the wall ( bathroom) but I do not know where is goes after it enters the wall.

Any help would be amazing.. Ive attached some photos

Thanks

Justin

IMG_20190506_103124.jpg

IMG_20190506_103133.jpg

IMG_20190506_103152.jpg

It's an earth cable. Don't cut it.

Can you trace where it goes? If it goes in the wall it may go to the loft somewhere. It may be an earth feed for the lights as years ago they wasn't required but new regs etc require lighting feeds to have an earth so it's probably been retrofitted.

From the size of it (6 or 10mm2 CSA) it is likely to be equipotential bonding rather than earthing but still don't remove it. If you can carefully lift the boards & see if there is any slack on it you might be able to re-route it under them.
You may still wish to consult an electrician who could investigate & remove if dead, or replace the twin & earth running up the door stop in an exposed position. They may also need to apply supplementary bonding across that Speedfit plastic fitting on the 15mm copper pipe.

while you are at it , increase the life of the copper pipe by cleaning off all the green ***** .
Soapy water and a worn out pan scrub will do it .