Search the forum,

Discuss Undersized heating pipes?? in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi guys, hope I can get some advice. I’m a gas safe engineer , working on a central heating issue, so I hope this in the the correct forum??

I was called to a job, where the customer has been having issues with the heating not working correctly and certain rooms not heating up. The customer asked me to powerflush the system and install an extra radiator in the kitchen. I did this , and when flushing the system. I noticed it was clean, and suspected another issue with the system. It was mainly a problem with the two radiators in the lounge on ground floor. I thought there could be a balancing issue, so closed all rads except for the lounge ones and still no heat would travel through. I suspected a blockage, so Took up carpet and assessed the pipework. It’s all done in plastic, and all in 15mm except for 1m of copper in 22mm from the boiler. The 15mm runs from boiler to landing upstairs feeds all upper rads , and drops down to the lounge rads. I am now suspecting that the pipework is undersized, but wanted to get some further advice before I commit to a re-pipe. Has anyone else had this issue before? I have seen systems pipes in 15mm before, and they worked ok, so any advice would be great. I have managed to drain the system and blow down the pipes on gomround floor , and there is no restrictions when system empty.

Regards James

If you shut all the other rads off and they still didn’t heat not a loading issue was it grey plastic pipe ?

Also you had water out of each of the valves on the problem rads ?

And why would grey pipe be an issue. Same stuff comes in grey or white. Colour is a personal preference.

Because it could be first gen plastic which doesn’t have an oxygen barrier so most of the time they clog up / block