• Welcome to PlumbersForums.net (formerly UKPlumbersForums.co.uk). Please login with your usual username and password. Or register for free if you haven't already done so.

Discuss Underfloor drainage for wetroom, help pls. in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

Knappers

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a gas man and plumber, mostly maintenance. A bathroom fitter I'm not!
My knowledge of underground drainage and building fabric is shocking.
However its summer, I've just settled my tax on account and I find myself tempted by a dreaded assist on a DIY wetroom.

So...
The clay waste pipe runs under the slab and cust has a preformed wetroom tray with a linear drain and standard style trap that obviously needs to fit flush

I could extend the soil out the back of house and add a stack with shower drain going through wall and across into stack but would need to be below ground level so cant get my head around dampproofing the shower waste

I could cut up the clay and add a branch to the shower internally?

Hows it done?

CBW1982

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Angle grinder for cutting with stone/diamond disc. Clay to pvc adapter and reduce what you need to I’m guessing?

OP
K

Knappers

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Thanks but is it ok to branch off inside and what about the damp-proof membrane (if there is one) what's the best way to replace/patch.
Would I just leave a cavity in the slab for the trap and are the re-inforced expanded foam trays really strong enough to span the gap?

CBW1982

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Thanks but is it ok to branch off inside and what about the damp-proof membrane (if there is one) what's the best way to replace/patch.
Would I just leave a cavity in the slab for the trap and are the re-inforced expanded foam trays really strong enough to span the gap?