• Welcome to PlumbersForums.net - The international free plumbing advice forum. Professional plumbers sharing advice with fellow plumbers and DIY alike. Register for free today! - Checkout the Plumbing Advice forum and then our Plumbing Videos area which still needs populating.

From the United States of America? - Checkout our specific plumbing forum for you:USA Plumbing Forum

Discuss Trying to improve a loo! in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

T

Toiletdrip

Hi,

Newbie here, and I hope that I'm posting in the correct place - apologies if not. I hope this question might prove an interesting one, and one which somebody may kindly be able to answer from their own experience.

I have a loo which is very bad at getting rid of anything put in it! The flushing mechanism is fine. The cistern fills up after being flushed, and empties fine when being flushed, and the cistern empties to the level it should. But any loo roll inside the loo will just spin around in a clockwise direction without going down, and I need to throw a bucket of water down when I flush in order to get anything to disappear.

There are holes at the back of the bowl which I have cleaned out just in case (they were fine; I live in a soft water area), and a large slot at the front which is also clear. There is no obstruction to the wastepipe, and water goes down it fine. Everything else does too with a bucket of water behind it.

My thinking is to try to limit the egress of water in certain areas around the bowl by experimenting with some filler, in order that the clockwise motion stops, and pulling the chain makes stuff go down the hole. But I don't know what filler to use.

Or do I just have a naff loo? Or, please, does anybody have experience of sorting out something like this?

Thanks in anticipation.

king of pipes

king of pipes

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer