Search the forum,

Discuss Training, advice. What's something you wish you knew before? in the General Off-Topic Chat area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello all, I have been training (working through course books mainly) for several months now and there's a hell of a lot to take in. I'm really enjoying learning about plumbing and thought a good way to get started in the community here would be to ask a good question, so

What's the best advice you've had or something you really wish you knew before you started plumbing?

Looking for general advice and info, Thanks all

BM

The only advice I can really give is study study study and never, ever become complacent. I started my apprenticeship at 19, I'm 36 now and there is still so much to learn. Although I did undertake and complete my plumbing and heating apprenticeship I was only ever an oil burner technician. I'm more than comfortable sat in front of oil burners but have spent lots of my spare time reading up on and watching videos of areas of heating that is vital to know, so I believe, to have a good understanding and as times change and technology developes the need to constantly learn will always be there.
Another thing I might add is lots of youngsters (I don't know your age, nor is it any of my business) are more concerned about living the weekends, getting drunk etc and not focusing on the main goal. In my spare time I would read books, or strip different burners down to familiarise myself further. People would call me boring, or a geek etc etc etc blah blah blah but ultimately I am far more knowledgeable than these people and the potential is high. Mechanical and electrical engineering is not for everyone, not everyone can wrap their heads around it and even those that do constantly have to keep learning.