Search the forum,

Discuss Towel Radiator leak - complete plumbing dummy! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
20170802_110539.jpg 20170802_110535.jpg Hi all

I have a heated towel rack in my kitchen. I noticed recently that all the paint is peeling off the top and cracking down the length of the radiator. The white surface is stained with dark radiator water and the whole thing looks god awful.

I want to repaint it, but am assuming that the paint peeling/cracking is because of a (tiny, dribbly, barely-noticeable) leak, and I'm not painting anything until the leak is fixed. The leak is coming from the very top of the radiator. Photos attached.

I fully admit that I have no plumbing knowledge whatsoever. I don't have a clue what I'm doing. I'm willing to have a go at fixing whatever the issue. I'm also willing to hire a plumber to fix it for me, but if it's a small job I'd rather save the £££ and do it myself.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

20170802_105220.jpg

20170802_105224.jpg

20170802_105241.jpg

Hi there. Provided the valves that turn off the towel rail work ok (they are usually fine but no promises until you try them!) this is quite an easy fix. You'll need a 1/2" vent and plug from any plumber's merchant CenterRad plug & vent kit | Plumb Center.

You will also need a vent key Regin REGQ615 radiator bleed keys (Pair) | Plumb Center and an adjustable spanner plus a sponge or cloth to soak up the small amount of water that might escape but there should be very little.

Close the valves off both sides of the rad (flow and return) and use the vent key to open the vent on the top right. You may get a small amount of water from here but it'll literally be an egg cup full (or even none at all) as long as the valves into the rad are closed properly.