Search the forum,

Discuss Toilet/ WH Pan Assistance for a colleague in USA in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi from the USA-
I'm a plumbing engineer and master plumber in the USA who is going to be building a new home and plan on using European wall-hung pan toilets with a concealed (in-wall) cistern. I intend to purchase these in the UK and have shipped here. I would really appreciate some input to a few questions. I will be using an adjustable cistern that can provide up to 9 liters per flush, and don't mind doing so since I am on a private well and private septic system which I own. My primary concerns are:

1) No skid marks. Must completely clean the bowl and I don't want to have to brush between uses.

2) Must not be prone to blockages from heavy toilet paper etc.
It would be preferred if the above were achievable with a single flush, and I'm hoping my ability to use 9 liters per flush will help. It should be capable of standing up to even commercial/ public use without problems.

3) Nice looking and modern would be great...but it seems like accomplishing the above is hard enough.

Since here in the states this type of water closet is rather rare and such fixtures generally have a reputation for needing brushing after "heavy" use, I'd like to ask the experienced plumbers in the UK what fixtures really do meet the above criteria based on your experiences and not just marketing hype. The test data I have found is very limited and doesn't address some real world issues.

Based on my own research, here are the fixtures I am thinking would be best. Please share any comments or other recommendations. If you prefer to privately message me, that would be fine to. Based strictly on the limited data I can find, the ones I am presently thinking will perform best (in order) are:

1) Ideal Standard "Tesi" Aquablad #T3545
2) Grohe "Euro" #3932800H
3) Duravit #2563090092 "New Darling" or possibly "Durastyle"
4) Toto "Aquia" #CT418F-01