Search the forum,

Discuss Three port valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

njmorrison

Hello all, I've just replaced a hot water cylinder so had to drain down the central heating system. Prior to me doing this work the flat occupier was having trouble with the radiators coming on when only the hot water was set to come on. This was diagnosed as the need for a three port valve which was subsequently fitted.

Since I have replaced the cylinder the radiators are again coming on and the hot water isn't. I have very little experience with heating systems and three port valves but I suspect the valve needs to be re-set. Is this the case?

If so, is this done externally as I know there is a switch on the outer casing of the valve?

Pleas advise, thanks

are you sure that you have installed the correct cylinder, wired it all up correctly, piped it all up correctly, sounds to me like you need to find someone to check what youve done

It's an indirect system and I know all the connections are correct. The other thing is it's making a banging noise when the boiler fires up which obviously suggests air lock! I've bled all the ratiators but not sure how to purge air that may be trapped in the coil! The hot water draw off works fine the immersion heater works fine and the flow and return from the central heating are exactly as they were to the original cylinder, I just had to adjust the pipe work position slightly!

Basically, a three port valve, depending on whether its a diverter valve or its a diverter valve with a mid position ability works a bit like this.

The diverter valve, the water comes in the inlet port and out of one other port, when switched it comes in the same inlet port and out of the other port. In other words it comes in one port and out of another.

A mid position does the same thing but can also come in the inlet port and out of both other ports at the same time.